8 Books That You Need To Read If You Love Funny Women

Here are 8 books, from Tina Fey, Kathy Griffin, Betty White, and more, that you need to read if you love extraordinarily funny women!
Here are 8 books, from Tina Fey, Kathy Griffin, Betty White, and more, that you need to read if you love extraordinarily funny women!

It’s no secret that, often times, women in comedy are seriously overlooked in favour of their male counterparts. Whether it’s Hollywood thinking that funny women can’t sell movie tickets or the fact that, since Chelsea Handler’s Chelsea Lately ended, there is now not a single late-night talk show hosted by a woman.

Whatever the reason that such dichotomies exist in Hollywood, we know the truth. Women are hilarious and these eight women, all of whom have had extraordinary careers in film and television, are just the tip of the iceberg.

If you love a good read, filled with celebrity insights, stories about growing up and chasing your dreams, and the difficulties of breaking into Hollywood, then these 8 books are must-haves for your expanding collection:

1. Official Book Club Selection: A Memoir According to Kathy Griffin by Kathy Griffin

In Official Book Club Selection: A Memoir According to Kathy Griffin, Kathy Griffin dishes on everything from celebrity encounters to her very real Irish Catholic upbringing in Oak Park, Illinois. Griffin’s memoir is hilariously written and is a must-have for any voracious reader and lover of celebrity culture.

2. Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) by Mindy Kaling

In Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns), Mindy Kaling, whom many know from her time on The Office and now The Mindy Project, delivers a cleverly laid out book that will have you turning pages into the wee-hours of the morning. In the book, Kaling describes her pre and post-college life, her entry into Hollywood success, and everything that came after that.

3. Bossypants by Tina Fey

We all love Tina Fey, obviously. Now, fall in love with her all over again as you delve into her story, Bossypants, which includes her time on Saturday Night Live, her life as a mother, and her “halfhearted pursuit of physical beauty.”

4. Chelsea Chelsea Bang Bang by Chelsea Handler

Chelsea Chelsea Bang Bang is just one of Chelsea Handler‘s many books that have soared right to the top of the bestseller list. Handler employs her characteristic wit to describe things like her relationship with her parents, living with her boyfriend, and appreciating her brother.

5. Pawnee: The Greatest Town in American by Leslie Knope (Amy Poehler)

You probably know Leslie Knope, as played by the hilarious Amy Poehler, from Parks and Recreation. In her book, Pawnee: The Greatest Town in America, Knope takes readers on a tour through the town she loves while highlighting its eccentric residents and unique history.

6. Seriously…I’m Kidding by Ellen DeGeneres

Seriously…I’m Kidding isn’t Ellen DeGeneres‘ first book, but it does bring the talk show host’s fans up-to-date on her most recent endeavors and adventures, including her partnership with CoverGirl, her time on American Idol, and an entire chapter called “Timeline of a Celebrity’s Day.”

7. If You Ask Me (And of Course You Won’t) by Betty White

There is, perhaps, no one alive today who has a career that is even comparable to the legendary Betty White. Written with White’s undeniable wit and charm, If You Ask Me (And of Course You Won’t) is comprised of wonderful anecdotes about her stint on Saturday Night Live, her time on Hot in Cleveland, and her love for animals. Included in the book are wonderful black and white photos from throughout her career.

8. This Time Together: Laughter and Reflection by Carol Burnett

Carol Burnett is a seasoned Hollywood legend who, at one point, had one of the funniest shows on television, The Carol Burnett Show. In her book, This Time Together: Laughter and Reflection, Burnett shares stories of her friendships with other Hollywood icons, like Cary Grant, Julie Andrews, and Lucille Ball, as well as behind-the-scene details of some of Burnett’s most iconic on-screen moments.

Are there any books which we didn’t include that you think should be on the list? Leave us a comment below!

Have you read any of these books? Which one is your favourite?

Share:

(1285 Posts)

Jordan is the founder of RecentlyHeard.com. He is also a writer, graphic designer, and pop culture freak of nature. When he's not tweeting about chocolate, he can be found working in public relations and social media. He lives in Toronto, Canada.

  • mst

    You left out Julie Andrews Home My Early Years, Donny Osmond My Life So Far, and Marie Osmond Books Carol Burnett’s Autobiography from 1986 and her newest one with her late Daughter Carrie Hamilton.