First meeting of the minimum support price committee likely on August 22: report

First meeting of the minimum support price committee likely on August 22: report
google news

The first meeting of the Minimum Support Price Committee will be held on August 22

New Delhi:

The Minimum Support Price (MSP) committee is due to hold its first meeting on August 22 to discuss future strategies, according to official sources.

The meeting will be held at 10:30 a.m. at the National Agricultural Science Complex (NASC) in the nation’s capital, the sources added.

At the first meeting, sources said the committee will introduce members, deliberate on “future strategies” and discuss the creation of sub-groups to cover the broad issues mentioned in the terms of reference.

Meanwhile, the government is in the process of persuading Samyukta Kisan Morcha (SKM) to participate in the work of the committee, it remains to be seen whether it will change its mind and appoint three representatives, sources added.

The SKM, which necessitated the creation of this committee after leading the protest of farmers against three agricultural laws and forcing the government to repeal them, has already rejected this committee and decided not to appoint its representatives.

In announcing the repeal of three farm laws in November last year, Prime Minister Narendra Modi promised to set up a committee to look into farmers’ MSP issues.

The committee, led by former agriculture secretary Sanjay Agrawal, was set up on July 18 to ‘promote zero-budget farming’, to ‘change’ cropping patterns keeping in mind the changing needs of the country and to make the MSP more “effective and transparent”. “.

There are 26 members including the chairman of the committee and three membership slots reserved for representatives of the SKM.

Members of the committee include: Ramesh Chand, Member of Niti Aayog, Agricultural Economists CSC Shekhar of Indian Institute of Economic Development and Sukhpal Singh of IIM-Ahmedabad and Naveen P Singh, Senior Member of Agricultural Costs and Prices Commission (CACP).

Among the farmer representatives, the committee includes national award-winning farmer Bharat Bhushan Tyagi, and five members from other farmer organizations include Gunwant Patil, Krishnaveer Choudhary, Pramod Kumar Choudhary, Guni Prakash and Sayyed Pasha Patel.

Two members of the cooperative and the farmers’ group – IFFCO President Dilip Sanghani and NCRI General Secretary Binod Anand – are also part of the committee.

Senior members of agricultural universities, five central government secretaries and chief secretaries from Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh, Sikkim and Odisha are also on the committee.


google news
Previous articleMillie Bobby Brown reveals she’s enrolled at Purdue University
Next article10 Steps to Deal With the Loss of Your Pet