Skip to content

Major League Cricket 2023: Schedule, teams, players, format, live streaming — All you need to know

Major League Cricket

On July 14, Major League Cricket (MLC) will launch its first season, becoming the most recent addition to the expanding list of franchise T20 leagues throughout the world. However, the league has already become the focus of attention due to the funding it has garnered and the possibility that it would spark a cricket revolution in the USA.

Here is all the information you need to know about the upcoming T20 competition before the MLC begins.

The BCCI will examine former players' involvement in international T20 leagues.
Yes, they participated in the just finished ICC ODI World Cup 2023 Qualifiers in Zimbabwe and are an Associate member of the ICC with ODI status. In actuality, the USA took part in the first international cricket match in 1844. On the grounds of the St. George's Cricket Club in New York, they faced off against Canada.

ICC has MLC been approved?

The MLC received official approval from the ICC and USA Cricket in April of this year. MLC will be run by American Cricket Enterprises (ACE), not USA Cricket.

The founders of Willow TV, Sameer Mehta and Vijay Srinivasan, as well as Satyan Gajwani and Vineet Jain of the Times of India, are promoting ACE. The most popular cricket broadcaster in North America is Willow TV.

Due to the USA's non-membership as a Full Member of the ICC, the statistics from the MLC will not be recorded against player profiles.

Teams and the MLC format

The Los Angeles Knight Riders, MI New York, San Francisco Unicorns, Seattle Orcas, Texas Super Kings, and Washington Freedom are the six teams that will compete in the first season.

The top four teams from each round robin will advance to the playoffs. All teams will participate in this format. There will be four games in the playoffs: Qualifier 1, Eliminator, Qualifier 2, and the Final.


The first season's 19 games will be played at Grand Prairie Stadium in Texas and Church Street Park Stadium in Morrisville.

Who owns the organization?

If you believe the Los Angeles Knight Riders are a part of the Kolkata Knight Riders family, you are not mistaken.

IPL franchise owners are the proprietors of four of the six MLC franchises.

Texas Super Kings is a member of the Mumbai Indians family, and MI New York is a member of the Chennai Super Kings family.

GMR Group, a co-owner of Delhi Capitals, is the owner of the Seattle Orcas.

Venky Harinarayan and Anand Rajaraman are the owners of San Francisco Unicorns. To manage the franchise, they have teamed up with Cricket Victoria in Australia. Sanjay Govil's Washington Freedom and Cricket New South Wales have teamed.

Live streaming and television

For the USA and Canada, Willow TV has the broadcasting license. The MLC will be broadcast live in India on Sports18 and JioTV.

Which well-known figures will compete in MLC?

Sunil Narine, Andre Russell, Rashid Khan, Kieron Pollard, Aaron Finch, Marcus Stoinis, Jason Roy, Trent Boult, Faf du Plessis, Devon Conway, David Miller, Quinton de Kock, Shimron Hetmyer, and Anrich Nortje are just a few of the many stars who will visit the United States for the MLC.

Is there a limit on international players?

Each franchise in the MLC is limited to a total of 19 players, with a minimum of 16. They must have at least 10 domestic players, with at least one representing the U23 USA. Teams are allowed a maximum of six foreign players in the starting XI.

Do Indian athletes compete in the MLC?

They are in great numbers. However, each of these players has given up playing domestic cricket in India. These people are Shubham Ranjane, Milind Kumar, Unmukt Chand, Harmeet Singh, Smit Patel, Sarbjeet Singh Ladda, Chaitanya Bishnoi, Tajinder Singh Dhillon, and Harmeet Singh.


Daniel Jack

For Daniel, journalism is a way of life. He lives and breathes art and anything even remotely related to it. Politics, Cinema, books, music, fashion are a part of his lifestyle.