Skip to content

Back Bypoll Results 2023 Highlights: ‘People have accepted INDIA’ Congress rejoices, says ‘Results are only a trailer’

Bypoll Results 2023 LIVE: At centers set up in the corresponding states on Friday, the counting of ballots for the seven assembly seats across six states that were up for byelection on Tuesday began at 8 a.m.

The Election Commission (EC) has declared that the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has won both the Dhanpur and Boxanagar assembly seats in Tripura's Sepahijala district. Additionally, TMC defeated BJP to win the Dhupguri seat.

Chandy Oommen, a candidate for the opposition UDF, won the Friday assembly by-election in Puthuppally. Son of the late Congress leader Oommen Chandy, he has consistently outperformed his closest rivals, according to PTI.

The outcomes of the byelection are considered as a test for the Indian National Developmental Inclusive Alliance (INDIA) grouping against the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-led NDA before the key Lok Sabha elections in 2024 and the five state assembly elections scheduled for later this year.

The seven seats are in the states of Uttarakhand's Bageshwar, Uttar Pradesh's Ghosi, Kerala's Puthuppally, West Bengal's Dhupguri, Jharkhand's Dumri, and Tripura's Boxanagar and Dhanpur. Utilize LiveMint to view all recent upgrades.

Date: Sep. 8, 2023, 9:38:31 IST
Byelection Results 2023: PDP Chief Mehbooba Congratulates INDIA Bloc Parties on Byelection Success
Mehbooba Mufti, the leader of the PDP, called it "not an easy feat" for the opposition INDIA bloc parties to win four of the seven open seats in the assembly elections.

"Congratulations to the INDIA alliance @INCIndia (Congress), @HemantSorenJMM (Jharkhand Chief Minister Hemant Soren), @AITCofficial (Trinamool Congress), and @samajwadiparty (Samajwadi Party) for their spectacular wins against divisive forces," she wrote in a post on X.

Given the combined might of the federal government and its agencies, Mehbooba added, "Not an easy feat."

The slogan "Judega Bharat, Jeetega India" from the INDIA bloc was also utilized by the leader of the People's Democratic Party (PDP) as hashtags.

Date: Sep. 8, 2023, 8:06:55 IST
Live Bypoll Results 2023: Oommen claims that the people of Puthuppally responded appropriately. Chandy's child
Achu Oommen, daughter of former chief minister of Kerala Oommen Chandy, attacked on Friday those who claimed that Puthuppally was lagging behind in terms of development and claimed that the residents of the district had responded appropriately to those who attempted to damage the legacy of the Congress stalwart. Chandy Oommen, the brother of Achu, was declared the victor of the byelection for the Puthuppally seat, which had been held by their father for more than 50 years in the state Assembly, on Friday by a sizable and historic margin. Chandy Oommen, a candidate for Congress, defeated Jaick C. Thomas, a CPI(M) candidate, by a margin of 37,719 votes.


Daniel Jack

For Daniel, journalism is a way of life. He lives and breathes art and anything even remotely related to it. Politics, Cinema, books, music, fashion are a part of his lifestyle.